US States and Capitals Map

US States and Capitals

The United States, which is located in North America, is the world’s fourth largest country. Covering an area of approximately 3,796,742 square miles, the United States is composed of 50 states and the federal district of Washington D.C, which is the capital of the country. Of these 50 states, 48 are contiguous and are located between the nations of Canada and Mexico. The other two states are Alaska and Hawaii. While Alaska is located in the northwestern part of North America, Hawaii is located in the mid-Pacific and is an archipelago.

Among these, Alaska is the largest state of the country. The state comprises an area of 665,384 square miles. Meanwhile, the state of Rhode Island, which is located in the New England region of the northeastern United States, is the smallest in terms of area. It covers an area of just 1,545 square miles.

Comprising a population of approximately 38,332,521 people, California is the most populous state of the country, while Wyoming is the least populous with 582,658 people residing in the state.

Delaware, which is situated in the northeastern regions of the United States, was one of the original 13 colonies that took part in the American Revolution. On December 7, 1787, Delaware ratified the Constitution, becoming the first state to do so. The past two centuries have witnessed many other states joining the Union and the most recent case is that of Hawaii. Hawaii was admitted to the Union on August 21, 1959.

The map provides information on the various states of the country such as the location, state capitals, state boundaries, and the country boundary. The capital of the United States, Washington D.C., is also clearly marked on the map. Each state has been depicted in a different color to enable the user to distinguish one state from the other. The map is a useful for teachers, students, geographers and even the layman who just wants to know the location and capitals of the US states.